> Mizoram Election Result 2023: ZPM decimates MNF in landslide victory, CM Zoramthanga loses - নিয়মীয়া খবৰ




Mizoram Election Result 2023: ZPM decimates MNF in landslide victory, CM Zoramthanga loses

The counting of votes in Mizoram is underway, and the opposition Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) led by Lalduhoma is en route to register a landslide victory, unseating the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) led by Chief Minister Zoramthanga. The ZPM has crossed the majority mark and is comfortably ahead of the MNF.

India Today Axis-My India exit poll had predicted a clean sweep by the ZPM in Mizoram, securing 28–35 seats in the 40-member assembly. The MNF – a constituent of the BJP-led was likely to be reduced to just 3–7 seats.

Incumbent chief minister Zoramthanga of the Mizo National Front is contesting from the Aizawl East-I constituency.

As per the latest Election Commission of India data, Lalduhoma, the ZPM chief ministerial candidate is leading from Serchhip constituency with 1390 votes.

The counting of votes in elections to the 40-member Mizoram assembly began Monday morning at 8 a.m.

The counting is being conducted in 13 centres across the state and in 40 counting halls.

There are 399 EVM tables and 56 postal ballot tables in 40 counting halls across the state.
Nearly 4000 personnel are involved in the counting of votes, as per the state election commission.

Counting in the Northeast state, which was initially scheduled for December 3, Sunday, along with four other states, was pushed back by a day following representations to the Election Commission by civil society, citing an important day in the religious calendar in the Christian-majority state.

Considering appeals by political parties and civil society organisations, citing the special significance of Sunday for the people of Mizoram, the Election Commission on November 29 officially announced the deferment of the counting of votes in the state to Monday.

Four major contenders are in fray in the northeastern state, which voted to elect its 40-member legislative assembly on November 7.

These include the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), the Congress and the BJP.
Mizoram’s political landscape has been dominated by the Congress and the Mizo National Front (MNF) since it attained full statehood in 1987.

The President of the MNF and Chief Minister, Zoramthanga, stands out as one of the most prominent figures in this election.
He became Chief Minister after the 1998 Assembly polls, ending Congress’s 10-year rule. The MNF governed for a decade until Congress won in 2008 and 2013.

The Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), positioning itself as the primary challenger in this election, has nominated their party vice president, Lalthansanga, as a contender against the three-time Chief Minister.

The elections to the 40-member Mizoram assembly were held on November 7, with the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) facing a stout challenge from the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), Congress, and the BJP.

Central Armed Police Forces have been deployed in the innermost Cordon and state police has been deployed in the outer Cordon

“…We started at 8 a.m. with the postal ballots…Now we have started with round one of EVMs…Everything is peaceful… We have 12 counting halls…We are prepared for any victory procession and any celebrations that happen… We have CAPF deployed in the innermost Cordon and state police in the outer Cordon…,” Nazuk Kumar, Deputy Commissioner.

SeeHere is theComments