> Lok Sabha Polls 2024, Phase 3: Four Assam constituencies to vote tomorrow - নিয়মীয়া খবৰ




Lok Sabha Polls 2024, Phase 3: Four Assam constituencies to vote tomorrow

Four seats of Assam will go to polls tomorrow for the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2024.

The constituencies that goes to polls on May 7 are Guwahati, Kokrajhar, Barpeta and Dhubri.

47 candidates, including one sitting MP and four sitting MLAs, are in the fray for the third phase of polls in five Lok Sabha seats.

14 candidates are in fray in Barpeta seat while, 13 candidates are contesting in Dhubri seat, 12 candidates in Kokrajhar, and 8 in Guwahati.

Sitting MP and AIUDF Chief Badruddin Ajmal is contesting from Dhubri seat against Congress candidate and former Minister Rakibul Hussain and AGP candidate Zabed Islam.

Eight times MLA and former Minister Phani Bhushan Choudhury is contesting as AGP candidate from Barpeta seat against Congress candidate Deep Bayan and CPI (M) candidate and sitting MLA Manoranjan Talukdar.

UPPL candidate and sitting MLA Joyanta Basumatary is contesting from Kokrajhar seat against BPF candidate Kampa Borgoyari and Congress candidate Garjan Mashahary.

On the other hand, BJP candidate Bijuli Kalita Medhi is contesting against Congress candidate and president of Assam Mahila Congress Mira Borthakur Goswami in Guwahati seat.

More than 81 lakh voters of four seats are eligible to exercise their franchise on May 7.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma led the BJP campaign in the last four parliamentary constituencies.

On April 29, Union Home Minister Amit Shah held a roadshow in Guwahati. The first phase of polls for five parliamentary constituencies – Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Lakhimpur, Sonitpur, Kaziranga was held on April 19.

The voting percentage in the first phase of polls was recorded at 78.25 per cent.

The second phase of polls in five parliamentary constituencies – Silchar, Karimganj, Diphu, Nagaon and Darrang-Udalguri was held on April 26 and the polling percentage was recorded at 81.17 per cent.

SeeHere is theComments