> Assam Rajya Sabha Election 2022: Polling for 2 seats concludes - নিয়মীয়া খবৰ




Assam Rajya Sabha Election 2022: Polling for 2 seats concludes

Guwahati: Voting to elect candidates for the two Rajya Sabha seats concluded in the Assam Legislative Assembly on Thursday.

126 MLAs have casted their votes in the elections.

The voting began at 9 am. Meanwhile, counting of votes will take place at 5 pm and the much-awaited results are slated to be out at 6 pm.

The first vote was cast by BPF MLA Durga Das Boro. On the other hand, Siddhartha Bhattacharya was the first BJP MLA to cast vote.

While the victory of BJP candidate Pabitra Margherita is almost confirmed in one seat, all eyes will be on the contest for the second seat where UPPL candidate Rangaura Narzary is locking horns with Congress candidate Ripun Bora.

As a matter of fact, Narzary needs only 2 votes to seal victory in the polls.

While Congress MLA Sashikanta Das has outrightly extended support for the ruling dispensation, it is yet to be seen whether Narzary can manage to secure the votes of two more MLAs from the opposition.

Earlier, the opposition Congress had accused All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) of “selling” five of its lawmakers to benefit the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its allies in the elections to two Rajya Sabha seats.

In Assam, a candidate needs 43 votes to get elected. BJP and its allies have 83 out of 126 votes in the assembly. Congress (26), AIUDF (15), CPI (M), and Raijor Dal have 43 votes.

The suspense will be broken only at 6 PM today when the results are finally out.

Worth mentioning is that both the ruling alliance as well as the opposition-held crucial party meetings last night ahead of the polls.

While Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma chaired a key meeting with BJP MLAs until midnight, the Congress too held marathon meetings to discuss on the Rajya Sabha polls.

The post Assam Rajya Sabha Election 2022: Polling for 2 seats concludes appeared first on News Live TV.

SeeHere is theComments