> Assam Districts Reduced From 35 to 31 - নিয়মীয়া খবৰ




Assam Districts Reduced From 35 to 31

The Assam cabinet on Saturday decided to merge four districts with others and redraw boundaries in 14 places, a day before the Election Commission (EC) bar on redrawing new administrative units comes into effect.

The decision was made in line with the delimitation process that has been initiated after the Election Commission’s (EC) decision to begin delimitation of Assembly and Parliamentary constituencies in Assam as per Section 8A of the RP Act, 1950.

The following districts will be merged with other existing districts:

  • Bajali with Barpeta district
  • Biswanath with Sonitpur district
  • Hojai with Nagaon district
  • Tamulpur with Baksa district

The above four districts will be sub-divisions.

The meeting approved to bring North Guwahati Town Committee under Kamrup Metropolitan district.

While making the decision, Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma apologized to the people and said that the decision was temporary.

SeeHere is theComments