> Lok Sabha Polls 2024, Phase 2: Five Assam constituencies to vote tomorrow - নিয়মীয়া খবৰ




Lok Sabha Polls 2024, Phase 2: Five Assam constituencies to vote tomorrow

Five seats of Assam will go to polls tomorrow for the second phase of the Lok Sabha elections.

The constituencies that goes to polls on April 26 are Karimganj, Silchar, Darrang-Udalguri, Nagaon, and Diphu. In phase 1, voting was held for 5 constituencies.

The prominent candidates to contest in this phase are – Assam Excise Minister Parimal Suklabaidya is the BJP candidate in Silchar (SC), who will take on Congress youth leader and district general secretary Surjya Kanta Sarkar.

Congress MP Pradyut Bordoloi from Nagaon against BJP’s Suresh Bora and AIUDF’s Aminul Islam, while BJP MP Dilip Saikia has been pitted against Congress candidate Madhab Rajbongshi in Darrang-Udalguri.

BJP MP Kripanath Mallah has been given the ticket in Karimganj against Congress nominee Hafez Ahmed Choudhury and AIUDF’s Sahabul Islam Choudhury. In the first phase, 38 candidates filed their nominations for the Kaziranga, Jorhat, Dibrugarh, Sonitpur and Lakhimpur constituencies.

Assam recorded 75.95 per cent voter turnout in the first phase of polls, which was held in five parliamentary constituencies in the state on last Friday.

The remaining 4 constituencies will go to polls in phase 3 on May 7.

This is the first election being held in the state after last year’s delimitation exercise which witnessed large scale redrawing of boundaries of both assembly and parliamentary seats.

SeeHere is theComments